Humanities E-Book
The Online Collection
Developed By Scholars

The ACLS Centennial Series is a selection of books authored by prominent contributors to ACLS to commemorate its founding in 1919. These books exemplify the scholarly achievements that ACLS and its originators have fostered over the last century. (Read about ACLS’s founding and history here.)

Erskine, JohnThe Moral Obligation to Be Intelligent, and Other Essays1915
Erskine, JohnThe Elizabethan Lyric: A Study1916
Erskine, JohnDemocracy and Ideals: A Definition1920
Graves, MortimerPromotion of Chinese Studies1929
Haskins, Charles HomerThe Rise of Universities1923
Herskovits, Melville J.The Interdisciplinary Aspects of Negro Studies1941
Jameson, J. FranklinThe American Revolution Considered as a Social Movement1926
Jones, Howard MumfordIdeas in America1945
Jones, Howard MumfordThe Pursuit of Happiness1953
Jones, Howard MumfordRevolution & Romanticism1974
Katz, Stanley NiderNewcastle's New York: Anglo-American Politics, 1732-17531968
Yu (ed.), Pauline, Peter Bol (ed.), Stephen Owen (ed.), and Willard Peterson (ed.)Ways with Words: Writing about Reading Texts from Early China2000